Space is defined as the boundless three-dimensional extent in which objects and events have relative position and direction. Well, that is the definition physics would tell us. I am going to see it with slightly a psychological and philosophical angle.

Even though space can be a boundless three-dimensional extent on this planet, human beings in general, have the tendency to bind our space for huge periods of time, if not throughout our lives. But sometimes brave souls like us have the courage to break free from our bound space or have the willingness to change our space intentionally.

About three weeks back I moved for the first time to New York City, U.S.A. from Bangalore, India.  I have lived in my country for all twenty-three years of my life. I was anxious as I left. What are we, if not just bundles of energy? Energy is what we are made of and energy is what we can spread while we live in this beautiful space on Earth. We are nothing but channels through which energy can pass through from the Universe. I have invested and spent my energy in building relationships in that space; I have invested energy in the form of time amongst other forms, in caring for people that in turn gave me all their energy in the form of love and care. I was not scared of landing in a new country, I was not anxious about making new connections, I was not fearful about embarking graduate school for the first time and I was not thinking about how New York City will treat me. I was in fact happily overwhelmed with all the love, affection and attention I received from my friends and family before I left. Farewell, they called it. What would happen to these exchanges when I moved out of the country?

As I thought about this I remembered the law of conservation of energy. It states that energy can neither be created nor destroyed, rather it transforms from one form to another. Energies that have been exchanged in my previous space will only transform itself into the better. All the love and care I received from that space will keep me happy and safe, I thought. Because the energy doesn’t get destroyed there, it comes with me in my new space. Parts of me I shared with them will be with them.

I landed in New York City for the first time and walked around what had only been the school of my dreams, Columbia University. The space felt strikingly familiar to me. It did not feel new. It did not feel scary. It did not feel uncomfortable. How could it be?

Synchronicity is what it was. Since the day we all look at our program website and decide this is the program we want to do, we are dissipating energies that will finally match the energy at the university. The times we are working so hard for a number of hours to ensure we get a good GRE score and all those frustrating moments we are writing and rewriting our statements of purpose we are creating within ourselves a kind of energy that will perfectly synchronize with the energy at the university of our dreams, so that when we land there for the first time or not, there is a perfect synchronicity of energies and we feel a sense of rejuvenation in our energy.

For all those who have changed their three-dimensional extent drastically to attend graduate school, I tell you that we are just physically at a different space, but we carry all the energies with us. We can just choose to be transformed with that and all the new energy that is going to be exchanged in this new space! Bravo for choosing to change your space and let there be more synchronicity of energies.

Published in TC Public Space, Volume V, Issue 1